top of page

TSHS Member Spotlight: Bob Oster

Member Spotlight, by Maria Ciarleglio, PhD, Yale School of Public Health.



We have revived the TSHS Member Spotlight to introduce one of our Section members to the rest of the TSHS community. This edition will feature Bob Oster, Ph.D., Professor at the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB). Bob has been at UAB for 22 years and is faculty in the Division of Preventive Medicine in the Department of Medicine. Although Bob now calls Birmingham, Alabama, his home, he is originally from Ohio. Bob earned his M.S. in Statistics from the University of Kentucky and his Ph.D. in Biostatistics from the University of Cincinnati.

What experiences led you to choose a career in statistics/biostatistics?

“My undergraduate degree was in mathematics. As a senior, I expressed an interest in going to graduate school. My professors saw that I was most interested in the applied aspects of mathematics (applied to real-world problems), so they recommended that I pursue a graduate degree in statistics. I followed their advice, and here I am today as a biostatistician!”


Although Bob is not currently teaching any courses, he serves as a member of multiple dissertation and thesis committees, which present opportunities for one-on-one teaching and mentoring.


What is your favorite teaching method/technique/style?

“I prefer teaching small groups of learners (as opposed to large classes). My favorite style is ‘interactive teaching’. This includes didactic instruction but allows for interactions and back-and-forth with the learners (I view this as different from lecturing and questions and answers). I also like to have students/learners work together in groups on certain problems, which helps to create a team atmosphere.”


Bob speaks fondly of UAB as an institution that has provided him with research, teaching, and service opportunities, in addition to many opportunities for career development and career advancement. “My division (Preventive Medicine) is like family. We all know each other, and we all care about each other and our families. This makes working here special.” [We agree, Bob—UAB sounds like a wonderful place to work!]


Bob has been an active member of TSHS for approximately 30 years, serving as Chair (2004), Program Chair, Publications Officer, Book Review Editor, Secretary, and Treasurer of the Section. He has also served as a member of the TSHS Resources Portal Committee and the TSHS ASA Fellows Committee and has chaired and presented at TSHS-sponsored JSM sessions. In 2009, Bob received the TSHS Distinguished Achievement Award for outstanding long-term service to TSHS.


How has your career benefited from being a TSHS member?

“Being a member has greatly helped me with career development and career advancement and has provided many opportunities for professional service outside of my institution (UAB). I was elected as an ASA Fellow in 2020 and think that my long-time involvement in TSHS was an important factor in my selection as an ASA Fellow.”


Any tips or advice for new TSHS members?

“Get involved in TSHS activities. Attend TSHS webinars; attend JSM; attend TSHS-sponsored JSM sessions; attend the TSHS JSM business meeting and mixer. Present in TSHS-sponsored sessions.”

Let’s finish up with a few rapid-fire questions!


Do you have any hobbies?

“Serving as an adult Boy Scout leader, ringing handbells in my church’s handbell choir, serving as a leader in my local American Mensa group, hiking, and walking.”


Favorite place you’ve traveled?

“Canada (I have enjoyed all my trips to Canada).” [Bob, we hope to see you at JSM 2023 in Toronto!]


Fun fact that people probably don’t know about you!

“I have lived and worked in 6 different states: Ohio, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Florida, Georgia, and Alabama.”


Favorite food?

“Pizza, macaroni & cheese.”


Describe what a perfect day outside of work looks like for you.

“A bright, sunny, and warm day outside without too many errands to take care of!” [Sounds perfect to us, too!]


We hope you’ve enjoyed getting to know Bob Oster. We cannot thank Bob enough for his invaluable contributions to TSHS over the years.


If you would like to be featured in the next Member Spotlight or would like to nominate a TSHS member to be featured, please contact us at tshs.asa@gmail.com.

bottom of page